SEE YOU ON MARS

“No pessimist ever discovered the secret of the stars, or sailed to an uncharted land, or opened a new doorway for the human spirit.”

Helen Keller, author and political activist

 

July 20, 1969

I was seventeen and Neil Armstrong was walking on the moon.

January 11, 2017

It’s been reported that a modern cell phone now has more computing power than the rocket that got him there.

As I consider this miracle, I’m also thinking about a telephone conversation I had with my four-year old grandson. He’s learned the names of all the planets. And in a picture sent to me he looks every bit like the astronaut in a costume and helmet. At the end of our phone chat he signed off by saying, “Good bye, Grandpa. See you tomorrow on Mars.”

Think about it.

It’s possible.

Maybe not tomorrow – but soon.

Journalist Stephen Petranek, author of How We’ll Live On Mars, thinks we have the nuts, bolts, and willpower to arrive there within the next twenty years. He says, “The achievement will make dreamy science fiction like Star Wars and Star Trek begin to look real…it will, for better or worse, create a wave of fortune seekers to rival those of the California Gold Rush.”

Wow!

Ten…nine…eight…seven…six… five…

Wait!

Before we blast off for Mars, I have other frontiers to conquer.

My last birthday cake only had 65 candles – I’m still young and full of beans.

 

*            *            *

 

TO DO LIST

Before October 11, 2036 (my 85th birthday)

Bean Town Or Bust!

I am going to run in the Boston Marathon.

I am going to run in the New York Marathon.

I am going to run up the Rocky Steps in Philadelphia.

“Until you start believing in yourself, you ain’t going to have a life.”

Rocky Balboa, boxer

Whenever you tell someone you’ve run a marathon race, in my case forty or so since 1986, the next question is, “Have you run in the Boston Marathon?”

My answer is no. And if the follow-up question is, “Why not?” I tell them because I have not yet qualified to run in it.

A marathon race is 26.2 miles long and my fastest race to the finish line was 3 hours and 37 minutes.

That was in 1989. I was 38 years old.

Now, at age 65, in order to be accepted into the Boston Marathon I am required to finish another marathon in less than 4 hours and 15 mins. That’s a 9 minute and 45 second per mile pace.

I have work to do.

Most of it from the neck up – it all starts with attitude.

“If you think you can do a thing or think you can’t do a thing, you’re right.”

Henry Ford, American Industrialist

“But they that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength;

they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run and not be weary; and they shall walk and not faint.”

Isaiah 40:31

 

Visit me at www.buddybloomwildflower.com

4 thoughts on “SEE YOU ON MARS

Leave a Reply

