NEW NEIGHBORS

“All I can say about life is, Oh God, enjoy it.”

Bob Newhart, comedian and actor

 

It’s Summer 1962 – I’m eleven years old.

A young couple, about to be married, were buying a house directly across the street from where my family lived. The groom politely asked if he could use our telephone. I remember he was very tall like Jerry Lucas the basketball player for Ohio State who was my hero at the time. My brother John also noticed the resemblance. We were introduced to the man. He looked happy. I don’t remember his name.

What I do remember, as if it just happened yesterday, was my mother calling me to the kitchen. She had a newspaper spread out on the table. Pointing to a picture of a mangled semi-truck and car –  she asked, “Do you remember that nice man that used the phone a few days ago?”

I nodded my head indicating I did.

“He was killed in this crash.

She was crying now.

I sat quietly with her for a short time then returned my attention to the television in another room.

*            *            *

I have a long list of things to thank my Mother for. At the top of the list are the gift of life, marrying my Father and sharing that newspaper story about the terrible accident that took away happily ever after from our new neighbors. With 65 years in the rear view mirror of my life I’m ever mindful of how blessed the road has been for me. With the passing of time, even the most difficult and devastating events have turned out to be preparation for bigger and better things.

I’m still here.

Forward march!

*            *            *

Imagine there is a bank account each morning with $86,400.

It carries over no balance from day-to-day.

Every evening the bank deletes whatever part of the balance you failed to use during the day.

What would you do?

Draw out every cent, of course?

Each of us has such a bank.

It’s name is time.

Every morning, it credits you with 86,000 seconds.

Every night it writes off as lost, whatever of this you have failed to invest to a good purpose.

It carries over no balance.

It allows no over draft.

Each day it opens a new account for you.

Each night it burns the remains of the day.

If you fail to use the day’s deposits, the loss is yours.

There is no drawing against “tomorrow.”

You must live in the present on today’s deposits.

Invest it so as to get from it the utmost in health, happiness and success.

The clock is running.

Make the most of today.”

Anonymous

*            *            *

And about those days when it’s not going so great. I believe that even in our darkest moments we are not here to be punished. We are here to serve. Someone needs your smile and encouragement today. Make it your business to find them.

Visit me at www.buddybloomwildflower.com

4 thoughts on “NEW NEIGHBORS

Leave a Reply

