WE’LL HAVE TO ARGUE ABOUT SOMETHING ELSE

“Fun is good.”

 Dr. Seuss

 

It was a hot day in June.

How hot was it?

I saw a dog chasing a cat and they were both walking.

Rim shot!

Yes, I know it’s an old corny joke but it sets the stage for what happened next. I was about to run in a 10k race. That’s 6.2 miles. There was a problem with the timing clock so the start of the race was delayed. No problem, so I thought. The runner beside me changed my mind.

“They should cancel this race, we’re all going to suffer heat stroke,” he said.

Trying to lighten his mood I said, “No problem, I’m solar-powered. The hotter it gets the faster I run.”

He was not amused and continued his forecast.

“They probably don’t have enough water out there for everyone.”

I tried again.

“I’ll bet some kind folks will turn on their sprinklers and we can run through them.”

He still wasn’t picking up the positive vibes I was putting out there.

“I bet they don’t have enough medics to handle the crowd.”

At this point I started praying for the starting gun to go off.

Why was this man here?

Aren’t we suppose to be having fun?

When we finally got started I took off as fast as I could. I didn’t want to catch whatever bug was causing his bad attitude. Thankfully, I never saw him again.

And then along comes Bart Yasso.

Now he’s the man I want to race beside. For inspiration and laughter read his book, My Life On The Run.

Bart started running on a dare from his older brother. That first mile saved his life. Bart traded an addiction to alcohol and drugs for a new life in running shoes. That was many years ago and now Bart Yasso is known as the “Mayor of Running.” He has competed in over a 1,000 races all over the world and that includes all seven continents.

This amazing man is fond of saying, “Never limit where running can take you because each race has the potential for adventure.”

Visit Bart Yasso at any race expo and he will be more than happy to answer your questions about nutrition, what to look for when buying running shoes and clothes, how to train and where to find a great race. But the best piece of advice I’ve ever heard him give was simply, “HAVE FUN!”

Bart and I will have to argue about something else because I agree with him 100% – if you’re going to invest your time, money, and energy running then the most important rule to follow is find a way to make it fun.

“Winning is a nice reward – don’t get me wrong – but glory isn’t the payoff.

This may sound cliché, but the reward is living the lifestyle and embracing the journey.

It’s not only about finishing, it’s about moving forward.”

Bart Yasso

 Visit me at www.buddybloomwildflower.com

Leave a Reply

