ONE STEP AT A TIME

“Some people walk in the rain, others just get wet.”

Roger Miller, singer and songwriter

 

I’ve been running since 1986.

No.

I’m not running from the law or a bill collector.

I began running as therapy for depression. I’m feeling better, thank you, but I’m still running.

I’ve run in so many kinds of weather that I’m more than qualified to work for the post office delivering mail. Today, I ran three miles in the rain. It felt great. A warm spring day, no chill in the air. I laughed and splashed my way down the road.

Funny thing about rain…

Sometimes it drizzles.

Sometimes it comes down in sheets.

Sometimes it comes down in buckets.

Sometimes it sprinkles.

Sometimes it rains cats and dogs.

Funny thing about trouble, it’s a lot like rain.

Sometimes it drizzles.

Sometimes it comes down in sheets.

Sometimes it comes down in buckets.

Sometimes it sprinkles.

Every now and then Snoopy, from the comic strip, Peanuts, can be found sitting on top of his doghouse, hammering away on a typewriter. His stories often begin with, “It was a dark and stormy night.” I think Snoopy had me in mind because 1986 was a dark and stormy time in my life. Sometimes it seemed the night and the rain would never end. I began treatment for depression. The doctor prescribed medication and suggested I begin running everyday.

At a track near my home, I began running quarter-mile laps. For a long time it was the best part of my day. I was getting pretty good at running in circles when I saw a notice in the paper for a 10K race.

I wasn’t sure how far 10K was but I signed up. It turned out to be 6.2 miles and I finished in good shape.

My confidence was building. I signed up for a 10-mile race and finished it too. Now, looming on the horizon was The Columbus Marathon, a 26.2 mile race. At the time I wasn’t even sure the car I had could be driven 26 miles. It seemed a long way to run. Still, I had nothing to lose. A few months later I became part of a 6,000 runner stampede thundering through the streets of Columbus.

How do you run 26.2 miles?

One step at a time…left foot, right foot, a whole bunch of times.

That’s what I did.

I was tired. I was cold. I was sore.

Did I want to quit?

Yes.

Did I quit?

No.

As the Japanese say, “The dog that wags it’s tail won’t be beaten.”

I finished that marathon race and so far 40 more just like it.

You have to run life the same way.

One step at a time, one day at a time, and no matter what keep wagging your tail. There will one day be a rainbow.

 

“In God have I put my trust: I will not be afraid…”

Psalm 56:11

Visit me at www.buddybloomwildflower.com

2 thoughts on “ONE STEP AT A TIME

  1. Loved this post! The other day I started a blog about rain, but I didn’t finish it. I love your take on rain. And I’m so glad that your running is taking you so far (no pun intended). Good job.

    Like

Leave a Reply

