HOPE ON THE LINE

“Did you ever get the feeling the whole world is a tuxedo and you’re a pair of brown shoes.” George Gobel, comedian

“Hardships often prepare people for an extraordinary destiny.” C. S. Lewis, author

Alexander the Great, Mozart, Abraham Lincoln and Winston Churchill are members of an association I belong to. If you wish, you can join too. The only requirement is to be depressed. I’m not talking about, “The toast got burned and the ball game was rained out.” I’m talking about an overwhelming feeling of hopelessness and sometimes suicidal tendencies.

“How do you feel?” the doctor asked.

I feel like a “Hollow Rabbit” was my response.

At Easter, along with jelly beans, marshmallow chickens and candy eggs, you can buy a mix of chocolate molded into the likeness of a rabbit. Bite into one of these bunnies and you’re likely to discover it’s hollow. That was me. I was empty. Why? I couldn’t tell you. I had a truckload of things to be thankful for. With food, clothes, shelter, living in the USA with a job, friends and opportunity, I was still unable to shake off the feeling of doom.

Rambling down the highway one night, the radio scanner in my truck landed on a talk radio call in how. I heard the host of the program announce that it was time to take some more calls from listeners.

“Let’s go to line one,” he said, “and talk to Hope.”

“Hello, Hope.”

“Are you there, Hope.”

You could hear him punching away at the controls, trying to find the caller named Hope.

“Where are you, Hope?”

Now you could hear the frustration in his voice.

“I need help finding hope,” he said to what I guess was a technician in the studio.

There were a few more clicks, a soft crackle, then the weary radio host announced, ‘Finally, we have Hope on the line.”

The first time I hit rock bottom with depression was 1986. Like that man on the radio, I needed help finding hope. The search took almost a year. With counseling, exercise, medication, and prayer I recovered. Hope for me, was on the line.

I would enjoy telling you that was my only battle with this malady. If I did tell you that, I would be lying. Depression has sunk its ugly fangs into my butt several more times. These bouts, thankfully were not as severe and did not last as long.

Take a look at the word “Depression” The late Dr. Norman Vincent Peale suggested knocking off the letters “D, E, and I” What remains are the words “Press On.” From my experience, let me tell you how to knock those letters out of the picture.

D – see a DOCTOR. You may need medication.

E – get some EXERCISE. You need to shake up the body’s natural antidepressants, endorphins.

I – Get some INSIGHT. See a counselor. Seek peace through prayer.

“By his light I walked through darkness.”

Job 29:33

Visit me at http://www.buddybloomwildflower.com

Leave a Reply

