A ONE LEGGED DUCK

“Little minds are tamed and subdued by misfortune, but great minds rise above it.”

Washington Irving, author and historian

 

Does a one legged duck swim in circles?

Yes?

No?

Maybe?

It all depends on the duck’s attitude and how he compensates for that missing leg. Sooner or later we all lose something or someone. Life can be cruel, but what you lose will never be as important as what you think and do next. After you take time to mourn your loss, your next move should be to start looking for the gift wrapped inside your pain.

I heard a story about two farmers. The first farmer asked the second, “How did you do in the tornado last night?”

The second farmer answered, “I lost my hen house and all my chickens but that’s all right.”

The first farmer did not understand. He said to his friend, “You lost your hen house and all your chickens in the tornado. You say that’s all right. How can it be all right?”

The second farmer leaned against his tractor, smiled, then said, “Well I may have lost my hen house and all my chickens in the tornado, but before the wind quit blowing I had three new cows and a pick–up truck.”

I have been broke and I have been hungry. I have been lonely and I have been sick. You may be surprised to learn I did not plan these adventures. Believe it or not I did not enjoy them either.

A counselor said to me, “Sometimes you end up taking classes you didn’t sign up for.”

She got that one right. I may not have had a good time, but I did learn something from each experience. Life is one big classroom and I’ve learned to be a willing student. Every farmer knows that if you’re not green and growing then you’re ripe and rotten. Struggle is a sure sign you’re green. God leaves the growing part up to you.

It has been my experience that not much growing takes place when your heart is full of anger and resentment. When you become a “one legged duck”  instead of asking, “Why me”? I suggest you get a sheet of paper and find a pencil. Now sit down and start adding up your blessings. If you take the time to do this, I’ll bet the list is a lot longer than you thought it would be.

Here’s another suggestion. Don’t wait until you become a “one legged duck” to count your blessings. Start now. Make it a habit. Look for the good and the God in everything that happens.

The happiest ducks in the pond are those who know how to swim with one leg and keep on quacking.

“When one door of happiness closes, another opens, but often we look so long at the closed door that we do not see the one that has been opened for us.”

Helen Keller

 

Visit me at www.buddybloomwildflowewr.com

 

 

3 thoughts on “A ONE LEGGED DUCK

Leave a Reply

